Invited Speakers

Prof. (Dr.) Rajib Mall

Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, Head, Information Technology
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
Bio: Dr.Rajib Mall is Professor of Computer Science & Engineering , and Head Information Technology at Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur since 1994. Dr. Mall’s area of interest is program analysis and testing. He has vast practical experience in developing industry-oriented software products. Having an academic experience of a decade and half in IIT Kharagpur, Professor Mall has guided several doctoral dissertations and published over a hundred research articles. He is currently working in the project titled “Free And Open Source Software For Software Engineering”.

Prof. (Dr.) Mihaela M. Albu, IEEE Distinguished Lecturer (I&M Society)

Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering
Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania
Title of the Talk: Intelligent Measurement Systems for Smart[er] Grids Control Abstract: Emerging power systems require significant changes on all layers - planning, operation, markets. Modern control algorithms need to process information acquired from distributed, synchronized measurement systems, and embedded in data streams with variable reporting rates and unknown filtering. Smart grids operation, including control of the energy flow in active distribution grids (and microgrids) adds more challenges to the control layer. Moreover, multiple measurement approaches are still in use: on one side, the inherited time-aggregation based measurements offered by most intelligent electronic devices, smart meters and power quality monitoring equipment; while on the other side, large data streams reported by Phasor Measurement Units and the synchronization requirements for high-resolution waveform-based monitoring devices with fault-recorder functionality. For example, presently the... Read more

Prof. (Dr.) Bruce McMillin, IEEE Distinguished Lecturer (Computer Society)

Associate Dean of the College of Engineering and Computing Director, Center for Information Assurance Senior Investigator, Intelligent Systems Center
Department of Computer Science, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Bio:  Dr. Bruce McMillin is currently the associate dean for research and outreach in the College of Engineering and Computing and a professor of Computer Science at the Missouri University of Science and Technology (S&T). He established and leads the campus Center for Information Assurance and is a senior research investigator in the campus Intelligent Systems Center at S&T His research is on formal methods for fault tolerance and security in distributed embedded systems with an eye towards critical infrastructure protection, most recently focusing on security and dependability of the advanced electric power grid control (smart grid). His research has been supported by the United States NSF, AFOSR, DOE, and several Missouri Industries. Dr. McMillin has authored over 100 refereed papers in international conferences and journals. He is leading the distributed grid intelligence project of the NSF Future Renewables Engineering Research Center, an advanced smart grid... Read more

Prof. (Dr.) Iti Saha Misra

Professor,Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India
Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India
Short Bio: Dr. Iti Saha Misra is the former Head of the Department and now a professor in the Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur University, Kolkata. She completed her B.Tech degree in Radio Physics and Electronics from Calcutta University (1989) and Masters in Telecommunication Engineering from Jadavpur University (1991), Kolkata, India. After the completion of PhD in Engineering in the field of Microstrip Antennas from Jadavpur University, she is actively engaged in teaching since 1997. Prof. Iti Saha Misra has 25 + years of research experience in the fields of Wireless Communication and Networks and 20 + years of teaching experience in the Department of ETCE. She is the recipient of prestigious Career award for Young teachers by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) in 2004, obtained IETE Gowri memorial award in 2007 in the best paper category for the topic of “4G networks: Migration to the Future”, co–author of several best paper... Read more